Charlie Conroy wins the AAS Helen. B. Warner Prize for 2017!

January 10, 2017


The American Astronomical Society has selected Professor Charlie Conroy to receive the Helen. B. Warner Prize for 2017.

The Helen B. Warner Prize is given annually for a significant contribution to observational or theoretical astronomy during the five years preceding the award, to an astronomer who has not attained 36 years of age in the year designated for the award or who is within eight years of receipt of his or her Ph.D. degree. Your citation reads:

“The AAS awards Dr. Charlie Conroy the Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy for his work in modeling stellar populations and galaxy evolution. Dr. Conroy is recognized for his originality and versatility in developing direct solutions to previously complex details in stellar population synthesis and cosmological simulations. He is a world expert in the connection of dark matter halos to galaxies, broad stellar parameterization in population synthesis modeling, and the study of the stellar initial mass function. His work has given critical insights on populations within star clusters, galaxy mass assembly and evolution, and CDM structure evolution.”

The prize includes a cash award and an invitation to give a plenary talk, hopefully at the upcoming summer AAS meeting in Austin, Texas (with travel expenses paid by the Society).

AAS Press Release:…/aas-announces-recipients-2017-prizes-and-…


See also: Cosmology